The LGBT Caucus in the Illinois General Assembly will increase to four following Tuesday's midterm election.


Illinois State Representatives Greg Harris (D-13-Chicago), Kelly Cassidy (D-14-Chicago) and Sam Yingling (D-62-Lake County) were all re-elected. They will be joined in the House by Lamont Robinson who ran unopposed following his primary victory in the 5th State House District in Chicago.


Robinson, a Democrat, will become the sixth openly gay legislator in Illinois history and the first LGBT person of color in the General Assembly.


Democratic State Rep. Larry McKeon from Chicago was the first out LGBT lawmaker in Springfield serving from 1997-2007. Out lesbian Deborah Mell, also from Chicago, served as State Representative from 2009-2013.


The Nov. 6, 2018 midterm election saw five openly LGBT candidates run for the Illinois General Assembly. Maggie Travor of Palatine narrowly lost her challenge in the 54th State House District.



INstrgram circle Facebookcircle twittercirlce2 tubblrcircle3  redditcircle2 youtubecircle3VimeocirclePinterest Circle Icongooglepluscircleello-logo