The National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association announced the winners of its 2016 Excellence in Journalism Awards on Wednesday to salute exemplary work over the 2015 year.

#Boom Magazine earned its first win in the print/online category since the publication's launch in June 2014. Colin Murphy, #Boom co-owner and editor-in-chief, received the Excellence in Bisexual Coverage Award for “Vincent Price's Daughter Confirms Father's Bisexuality," a revealing interview where the horror legend's out daughter went on record about her father's personal life.

The NLGJA Excellence in Journalism Awards were established in 1993 to foster, recognize and reward excellence in journalism on issues related to the LGBTQ community. Expanded to 30 awards in 2016, awards will be presented for excellence in Bisexual Coverage, Blogging, Book Writing, Column Writing, Digital Edition, Digital Video, Documentary, Feature Writing, Feature Writing (Non-Daily), Health or Fitness Coverage, HIV/AIDS Coverage, Local Television, Multimedia, Network Television, Newswriting, Newswriting (Non-Daily), Online Journalism, Opinion/Editorial Writing, Photojournalism, Podcasts, Profile Writing, Radio, Social Media, Sports Writing, Student Journalism, Transgender Coverage and Travel Writing in addition to several special recognition awards.

"NLGJA saw unprecedented growth in nominations for the Excellence in Journalism awards during our 25th Anniversary last year,” said NLGJA Awards Chair April Hunt. “This year, we expanded the categories to more than double last year’s offerings, continuing to award small and mid-sized publications, and saw exponential growth in nominated work.”

A full list of awards are below:


Special recognition awards:


Journalist of the Year Award


First: Dominic Holden, BuzzFeed News


Second: Tim Teeman, The Daily Beast


Sarah Pettit Memorial Award for the LGBT Journalist of the Year


First: Lucas Grindley, Here Media


Second: Erik Hall,


The Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism


First: Jim Burress for “Fulton County Doesn't Spend, Loses HIV Prevention Money,” 90.1 WABE


Print/online awards:


Excellence in Book Writing


First: Mark Segal for “And Then Danced: Traveling the Road to LGBT Equality,” Akashic Books


Excellence in Feature Writing Award


First: Berlin Sylvestre for “Damascus to Denver: Exodus From Syria,” OUT FRONT Magazine


Excellence in Feature Writing Award (Non-daily)


First: Michael Lindenberger for “The Vanishing Terrain of Gay America,” The New Republic


Second: Tre'vell Anderson for “Jewel's Catch One Disco's Demise Marks Era's End for L.A.'s Gay Blacks,” L.A. Times


Excellence in News Writing Award


First: Andy Birkey for “Dozens of Christian Schools Win Title IX Waivers to Ban LGBT Students,” The Column


Second: Daniel Burke for “Exclusive: Pope Held Private Meeting with Same-Sex Couple in U.S.,” CNN


Excellence in News Writing Award (Non-daily)


First: Gretchen Rachel Hammond for “LGBT Immigrants Still Face Hurdles,” Windy City Times


Second: Dominic Holden for “Why Are Black Transgender Women Getting Killed in Detroit?” BuzzFeed News


Excellence in Photojournalism Award


First: Preston Gannaway for “Soccer on the Streets,” ESPN


Second: Bradley Secker for “A Gay Refugee Sold His Kidney to Escape Iran,” BuzzFeed News


Excellence in Profile Writing Award


First: The Advocate Staff for “40 Under 40: Intersectional Voices,” The Advocate


Second: Tim Teeman for “Jane Clementi: I Almost Killed Myself After Tyler's Suicide--This Is How I Survived,” The Daily Beast


Excellence in Sports Writing Award


First: Erik Hall for “Uncle's Death Motivates Gay College Athlete to Create Change,”


Excellence in Student Journalism Award


First: Nicole Wiesenthal for “Collection,” South Florida Gay News


Second: Earl Jordan Lalata for “The Right to Privacy,” Xpress Magazine


Excellence in Travel Writing Award


First: Manny Velasquez-Paredes for “The Great Family Escape: The Lake George Adventure,” Connextions Magazine


Digital awards:


Excellence in Blogging


First: Mark S. King for “My Fabulous Disease,” My Fabulous Disease


Second: Pamela Valentine for “Affirmed Mom of a Transgender Child,”


Excellence in a Digital Edition Award


First: Mark Calvey, Krystal Peak, Jim Gardner, Chris Rauber and Ron Leuty for “Business of Pride Special Edition,” San Francisco Business Times


Excellence in Digital Video Award


First: Samantha Stark for “How a Love Story Triumphed in Court,”


Excellence in Multimedia Award


First: German Lopez and Joe Posner for “Trans Lives,”


Excellence in Online Journalism Award


First: Shannon Keating, Lauren Morrell Tabak, Marcie Bianco, Sarah Fonseca and Lisa C. Moore for “Lesbian History Week,” Buzzfeed


Second: Eric Walter for “Speak Easy Forums: LGBT Priorities Beyond Marriage,”


Excellence in Social Media Award


First: The Advocate Staff for “Day in LGBT America,” The Advocate


Editorial awards:


Excellence in Column Writing


First: Maxwell Heller for “Columns of Miz Cracker,” Slate


Second: Heidi Stevens for “Balancing Act with Heidi Stevens,” Chicago Tribune


Excellence in Opinion/Editorial Writing Award


First: Neal Broverman for “I Met My Best Friend on Grindr,” The Advocate


Second: Mark S. King for “Surviving Life Itself,” POZ


Broadcast awards:


Excellence in Documentary Award:


First: Simon Kilmurry, Chris Hastings, Carmen L. Vicencio and PJ Raval for “America ReFramed: Before You Know It,” World Channel


Excellence in Local Television Award


First: Darren Perron for “Powerful Transformation,” WCAX-TV


Excellence in Network Television Award


First: DaxTejera, Eric Herbst, Lindsay Garfield, Alcione Gonzalez and Douglas Forte for


“America With Jorge Ramos: 101 Gay Weddings,” Fusion


Second: Jay Kernis for “Sunday Morning: In His Name,” CBS News


Excellence in Podcasts Award


First Place: Ken Schneck for “This Show is So Gay,” This Show is So Gay


Excellence in Radio Award


First: David Weinberg for “Grace of the Sea,” KCRW 89.9FM


Second: Jim Burress for “Fulton County Doesn't Spend, Loses HIV Prevention Money,” WABE-FM and


Coverage awards:


Excellence in Bisexual Coverage Award


First: Colin Murphy for “Vincent Price's Daughter Confirms Father's Bisexuality,” #Boom Magazine


Excellence in Health or Fitness Coverage:


First: Mary Emily O'Hara for “The Transgender Healthcare Revolution is Here With Two New Startups,” The Daily Dot


Second: Benjamin Ryan for “When Can We Expect PrEP 2.0?,” POZ


Excellence in HIV/AIDS Coverage Award


First: Heather Boerner for “Ongoing HIV Prevention/Treatment Coverage,” The Daily Beast/


Second: Daniel Villarreal and Topher Williams for “‘Trust Him?’: Why Are The Images Debating PrEP Use So Consistently Shitty?”


Excellence in Transgender Coverage Award


First: Dylan Edwards for “Voices: How I Told My Grandma I'm Transgender,” Fusion


Second: SunnivieBrydum and Mitch Kellaway for “This Black Trans Man Is in Prison for Killing His Rapist,” The Advocate


The awards will be presented throughout the NLGJA National Convention & LGBT Media Summit September 8-11 in Miami, FL. For more information on the convention and the schedule of awards presentation, visit




INstrgram circle Facebookcircle twittercirlce2 tubblrcircle3 youtubecircle3VimeocirclePinterest Circle Icon