ST. LOUIS, Mo. - Pride St. Louis, Inc. is pleased to announce the opening of nominations for the annual 2016 PrideFest Community Service Awards. Each year, community members nominate individuals and organizations for the four available awards.

"Community awards are an important method in uplifting and celebrating our LGBTQIA community members, allies, businesses, and organizations who have gone above and beyond the call of duty and dedicated themselves to empower others, defend our rights, fight against discrimination, and stand with solidarity in the face of intolerance," said Leon Braxton, the Director of Community Outreach and Scholarship for Pride St. Louis.

There are four awards available:

The “Felton T. Day Community Service Award” is presented to a person – not associated with Pride St. Louis – whose service to the LGBTQIA+ community has gone above and beyond, exemplifying the spirit of leadership and service in one’s community.

The “Jim Hoefer Organization Award” is presented to an organization best exemplifying what it means to serve St. Louis’ LGBTQIA+ community.

The “Chuck Charleston Award” is presented to a former Pride St. Louis board member who demonstrated leadership and service beyond their normal duties.

Lastly, the “Lisa Wagaman Lifetime Community Service Award” is presented to a person who has dedicated a large portion of their life to further the Pride movement/LGBTQIA+ causes, through leadership and/or volunteering.

Awards will be announced at the Pride Kick-Off Party on Saturday, June 4, 2016 at the Magnolia Cafe and The Stage at KDHX, and all winners will be featured in the parade and have a profile and picture in the official Pride Guide.

In addition to nominations for the four community awards, Pride St. Louis also announces that they are accepting nominations for the grand marshal of the parade. The grand marshal will be given the honor of leading the parade at noon on the Sunday of Pride Weekend. The theme for PrideFest this year is “solidarity.”

"Holding the position of grand marshal has been an honor since the first St. Louis Pride in 1980,” offered Ellen Vanscoy, Pride St. Louis Parade Director.

Nominations can be submitted by clicking here. All nominations are due by midnight on Sunday, April 10th, 2016. E-mail This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with any inquiries.


The mission of Pride St. Louis, Inc. is “to foster an understanding of and equality for the LGBTQIA+ community in the general population by raising awareness through educational programs and events, ultimately leading up to the annual PrideFest in St. Louis.” For more information about Pride St. Louis please visit or



INstrgram circle Facebookcircle twittercirlce2 tubblrcircle3 youtubecircle3VimeocirclePinterest Circle Icon